Hernan Losada

D.C. United Name Hernán Losada as Head Coach

En Español

WASHINGTON, D.C. (January 18, 2021) – D.C. United announced today that Hernán Losada has been named as their new Head Coach. Losada has joined D.C. United from Belgian First Division side, Beerschot, where he had served as manager since 2019.

“Our process to identify the right individual to lead our club has been extremely thorough and we’re confident that Hernán is the ideal person and coach to take us forward,” said Dave Kasper, D.C. United General Manager and Vice President of Soccer Operations for D.C. United. “We believe wholeheartedly in Hernán’s approach to the game and his desire to play high-energy soccer with and without the ball. We look forward to getting to work with Hernán to start the 2021 season.”

Losada’s managerial career began in 2019 when he was appointed the Head Coach of Beerschot’s U21 side. Later that year in October, he took over as the Manager of the first team halfway through their 2018- 2019 campaign in the Belgian Second Division and led the club on a remarkable promotion-winning run, securing a return to the top flight. In his first full season in charge, Losada navigated Beerschot to an impressive start, which included a stint at the top of the table late in 2020. Through 21 matches, Beerschot sit in 10th place, have scored the third-most goals in the league (41), and are only one point away from a UEFA Europa League qualification position.

“I’m excited about the opportunity to join D.C. United and to write a new chapter of success with this storied club,” said D.C. United Head Coach Hernán Losada. “I believe in playing every match to win and in my opinion the best way to do this is to create as many scoring chances as possible every time we step onto the field, through high-energy, vertical attacking soccer. I am looking forward to entertaining our fans and competing.”

An attacking midfielder during his playing days, Losada’s 15-year professional career began in Argentina with Independiente, where he made 50 appearances and scored six goals. In 2006, Losada made the move to Europe where he joined Beerschot and played two seasons for the Belgian club, appearing 51 times and scoring 14 goals. In 2008, he moved to Anderlecht where he spent the next three seasons before eventually finding his way back to Beerschot in 2011. During his second stint with the Belgian club, Losada appeared 57 times, scored 18 goals, and was given the captaincy. He then moved to Lierse where he found the back of the net five times in 53 appearances captaining the club over the two years. In 2015, Losada decided once more to return to Beerschot for a third and final run. Prior to his retirement in 2018, Losada appeared an additional 70 times for the Belgian side, often captaining the team, and scored 28 goals.

“Hernán is a strong leader and strategist and an attack-minded coach,” said Jason Levien, Co-Chairman and CEO of D.C. United. “We are confident that our players and community will take quickly to him and will thoroughly enjoy his high-energy, forward-thinking soccer."

Losada will become the youngest active coach of a Major League Soccer club. D.C. United will file for Losada’s P-1 Visa and his coaching staff will be announced at a later date.

Season Tickets

About D.C. United

One of the founding clubs of Major League Soccer in 1996, D.C. United are among the most decorated teams in the United States with 13 domestic and international trophies.

D.C. United have called the District home for the past 25 seasons and play their home games at Audi Field in the Buzzard Point neighborhood of Southwest, Washington, D.C, which opened in 2018. In addition to D.C. United games, the 20,000-seat soccer-specific stadium hosts over 100 events year-round, including the District’s premier arts, culinary, and music festival, Unite the District Fest. Audi Field will soon be home to America’s number one sportsbook through a partnership with FanDuel Group.

The Black-and-Red have won the MLS Cup four times (1996, 1997, 1999 and 2004), the Supporters’ Shield four times (1997, 1999, 2006 and 2007) and the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup three times (1996, 2008 and 2013).