D.C. United legend Marco Etcheverry was inducted into the 2016 D.C. Sports Hall of Fame at Nationals Park prior to Sunday’s game versus against the Pittsburgh Pirates. The MLS icon—known as “El Diablo”— was among 10 fellow D.C. Athletes, coaches and media who received the accolade, including Christine Brennan, Patrick Ewing, Frank Herzog, Earl Lloyd, Dexter Manley, Missy Meharg, Bob Milloy, Hymie Perlo, Phil Perlo and Harold Solomon. The Bolivian was the first United soccer player in the history of the D.C. Hall of Fame (established in 1980) to be inducted.

Etcheverry led the Black-and-Red to three championship titles in the league’s first four seasons and was named Most Valuable Player in the league's inaugural MLS Cup, when the Black-and-Red defeated the Los Angeles Galaxy 3-2. The dangerous left-footed attacker twice led Major League Soccer in assists (1996 and 1999, with 19), and is seventh all-time in the same statistic.  Etcheverry was named to the MLS Best XI in each of the league's first four years and was part of the MLS All-Time Best XI, selected in 2005. He was also the league's Most Valuable Player in 1998.

In addition to three MLS Cups, Etcheverry is a U.S. Open Cup champion (1996) and a CONCACAF Champions' Cup winner (1998). In 191 matches with the club, the midfielder notched 34 goals and 101 assists.  Originally from Santa Cruz, Bolivia, Etcheverry also served as captain of the Bolivian national team, earning 71 caps and scoring 13 goals. A true pioneer in the game, he is still considered by many as the best player that the nation of Bolivia has produced.

In making their selections, the Hall of Fame nominees must receive 75 percent of votes from the 10-member committee. The athletes must be retired for at least three years before being considered. Each member received a plaque, commemorating their induction. Etcheverry and the other inductees were added to the Hall of Fame display at Nationals Park that overlooks the left field concourse (555).  More information on the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame can be found at dcsportshall.com.