lockerroom celebration - us open cup 2013
Tony Quinn

D.C. United wins 2013 U.S. Open Cup, 13th major title

D.C. United won the 100th edition of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Tuesday night with a 1-0 victory – courtesy of a Lewis Neal goal – over Real Salt Lake at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, UT. With the win, United claimed its third Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup (1996, 2008, 2013) and added to the club's record-setting trophy haul. D.C. United remains the most successful club in United States professional soccer history, with 13 major domestic and international titles won. A result of winning the 2013 U.S. Open Cup, United claims $250,000 in prize money and is guaranteed an automatic berth into the 2014-15 CONCACAF Champions League.

Before defeating Real Salt Lake, United advanced past four other opponents en route to the title. In the third round, the Black-and-Red defeated USL PRO affiliate the Richmond Kickers 4-2 on PKs after both teams went scoreless through 120 minutes. Next up was the Philadelphia Union in the fourth round where United advanced by a score of 3-1. Captain Dwayne De Rosario notched a hat trick to lead the squad to victory and was named “Player of the Round,” as a result. In the quarterfinals, the Black-and-Red beat the New England Revolution, again by a score of 3-1, with goals from De Rosario, Lionard Pajoy and Chris Pontius. Against the Chicago Fire in the semifinals, Rosario and Nick DeLeon both scored to send the team to the championship as they took down the Fire, 2-0.

Members of the team and traveling party will land at BWI Airport at 4 p.m. ET tomorrow (Wednesday), before returning to RFK Stadium. Media wishing to speak with the team upon arrival at RFK should contact T.J. Scholl at or 910.389.1607.