Players confirmed for United 1999 MLS Cup reunion

Washington, D.C. (October 14, 2009) - D.C. United confirmed today the players set to appear at RFK Stadium on Saturday, October 17, as the club recognizes the ten-year anniversary of the 1999 squad that captured both the Supporters’ Shield and the MLS Cup. Jeff Agoos, Judah Cooks, Marco Etcheverry, David Hayes, Roy Lassiter, John Maessner, Jaime Moreno, Ben Olsen, Curt Onalfo, Antonio Otero, Eddie Pope, Tom Presthus, Mark Simpson, Diego Sonora, Richie Williams, AJ Wood and coach Thomas Rongen will all return to the nation’s capital for a weekend of promotional events and a halftime tribute during the this year’s final MLS home game against Columbus (8 p.m. ET, Comcast SportsNet).

D.C. United’s 1999 side stormed through League play, earning the club’s second Supporters’ Shield trophy, before winning MLS Cup. The feat completed a third domestic double (two major trophies won in a single season) and marked the club’s third MLS Cup title in a four-year span.

Following a rare weekend off, D.C. United (8-8-12, 36 points) hosts the first-place Crew Saturday night. With just two games remaining in the regular season, United must likely collect six points and hope a number of other results go its way in order to qualify for the MLS Cup playoffs. Tickets and promotional packages for the game remain available at .

Broadcasting and P.A. Request: When speaking of the organization, please refer to the team as either “D.C. United” or “United,” but not “the D.C. United” or “the United.” We appreciate your cooperation.

Doug Hicks,, (202) 587-5448,
Boris Flores,, (202) 587-5452,
Kyle Sheldon,, (202) 587-5450 or
Cristina Cruz,, (202) 587-5440