IMAGE: Nick Sam Mullins

Sam, Mullins and DeLeon among 11 protected ahead of 2016 Expansion Draft

Prior to the MLS Expansion Draft on Dec. 13, D.C. United have protected Steve Birnbaum, Bill Hamid, Taylor Kemp, Nick DeLeon, Lloyd Sam, Patrick Nyarko, Lamar Neagle, Rob Vincent, Marcelo Sarvas, Luciano Acosta and Patrick Mullins. United signed midfielder Luciano Acosta on November 16 after a successful loan stint where the Argentine led the team with 11 assists in the regular season. Additionally, United re-signed U.S. Men’s National Team center back Steve Birnbaum to a multi-year contract on December 2 after the 2016 MLS All-Star had his best MLS season, making 26 appearances and scoring three goals.

United midfielder Julian Büscher is automatically protected because of his Generation adidas status, as are Jalen Robinson, Chris Durkin and Collin Martin through their Homegrown status.

For a full list of every team's protected and unprotected lists, visit

The 2016 Expansion Draft will include five rounds, giving Atlanta United FC and Minnesota United FC the opportunity to pick five players each ahead of their entry into the league 2017. In the Expansion Draft, Atlanta and Minnesota will be allowed to select eligible players from the other 20 rosters in Major League Soccer to add to their inaugural MLS roster for the 2017 season. Each current MLS club has the ability to protect 11 players from selection and teams may only lose one player.

Expansion Draft Rules/Regulations

Following the Expansion Draft at 2 PM ET, all eligible free agents are allowed to begin contract negotiations with MLS teams. 

Offseason Calendar

D.C. United
Acosta, Luciano
Birnbaum, Steven
DeLeon, Nick
Hamid, Bill
Kemp, Taylor
Mullins, Patrick
Neagle, Lamar
Nyarko, Patrick
Sam, Lloyd
Sarvas, Marcelo
Vincent, Rob

Automatically Protected:
Buescher, Julian
Durkin, Chris
Martin, Collin
Robinson, Jalen
Boswell, Bobby
Dykstra, Andrew
Franklin, Sean
Horton, Charlie
Jeffrey, Jared
Kamara, Alhaji
Korb, Chris
Mishu, Luke
Opare, Kofi
Rolfe, Chris
Saborio, Alvaro
Worra, Travis