us open cup trophy celebration - 2013
Tony Quinn

D.C. United to face Rochester Rhinos in 4th Round of 2014 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup

D.C. United has announced that it will face the Rochester Rhinos of USL Pro on the road at Sahlen’s Stadium in Rochester, N.Y., in the fourth round of the 2014 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup on Tuesday, June 17, at 7:05 p.m. EST. Rochester advanced past the third round by defeating Reading United AC 2-1 in extra time, with a goal in the 119th-minute by Colin Rolfe. 

United is a perfect 4-0 all-time in U.S. Open Cup play again the Rhinos. The teams’ first meeting came in the 1996 championship game, which D.C. United won 3-0. They have since met in the competition in 2000, 2008 and 2009.

RELATED: CONCACAF Draw to be held on May 28

D.C. United has won the U.S. Open Cup three times in its 19-year history. In 1996, D.C. United pulled off the first ‘double’ in League history, winning both MLS Cup and the U.S. Open Cup. The Black-and-Red beat the second division Rochester Raging Rhinos 3-0 in the 1996 Open Cup Final, on the strength of goals from Eddie Pope, Jaime Moreno and Raul Diaz Arce. In 2008, United captured its second Open Cup title when it beat the second division Charleston Battery 2-1, with goals from Fred and Luciano Emilio. Last season, United defeated Real Salt Lake 1-0 on a Lewis Neal tally to win its third U.S. Open Cup.

RELATED: Busy summer for the Black-and-Red

The 2014 tournament features 68 teams and will also mark the third-consecutive year in which all U.S.-based Division I, II and III teams will participate in the tournament proper: 16 from Major League Soccer, six from the North American Soccer League and 12 from USL PRO, 16 from the Premier Development League, eight from the U.S. Adult Soccer Association, eight from National Premier League, one from US Club Soccer and one from United States Specialty Sports Association.

Ticketing and streaming information to be announced at a later date on

INFOGRAPHIC: D.C. United's history in CONCACAF and U.S. Open Cup