Andy Najar Honduras - 620x350
Patric Schneider / AP

Andy Najar named to Honduras’ World Cup qualifying roster

D.C. United today announced that defender/midfielder Andy Najar has been named to Honduras’ 23-man roster for a February 6 match against the U.S. Men’s National Team in the final round of 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifying. The game will take place at Estadio Olimpico in San Pedro Sula, Honduras and will be televised on beIN SPORT at 4 p.m. ET. Najar will join the Honduran Federation on February 1.

Najar, 19, had a fantastic third season with D.C. United, playing in 25 regular-season matches, starting 22, and notching four assists. The converted right fullback is a product of D.C. United’s Youth Academy, and was the second Homegrown Player to sign with the first team on March 22, 2010. That year, he went on to win the 2010 MLS Rookie of the Year award, as well as being named the 2010 D.C. United Volkswagen MVP. In his young, yet illustrious D.C. United career, Andy Najar has tallied 10 goals and 11 assists in the 82 MLS matches (72 starts) in which he has appeared.

Najar has made three appearances with the senior Honduras National Team and seven for the U-23s, including a run in the 2012 London Olympics in which the squad advanced to the quarterfinals. He earned his first cap for the country on September 3, 2011 against Colombia at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, NJ.

Honduras roster vs. United States (February 6, 2013):

Goalkeepers (3): Noel Valladares (Olimpia), Donis Escober (Olimpia), José Mendoza (Marathón)

Defenders (8): Arnold Peralta (Vida), Bryan Beckeles (Olimpia), Víctor Bernárdez (San Jose Earthquakes), Osman Chávez (Wisla Krakow/Poland), Maynor Figueroa (Wigan Athletic), Juan Pablo Montes (Platense), Emilio Izaguirre (Celtic/Scotland), Juan Carlos García (Olimpia)

Midfielders (8): Luis Garrido (Red Star Belgrade), Jorge Claros (Hibernian), Roger Espinoza (Wigan Athletic/England), Alex López (Olimpia), Andy Najar (D.C. United), Boniek García (Houston Dynamo), Mario Martínez (Seattle Sounders), Aldo Oviedo (Real España)

Forwards (4): Jerry Bengtson (New England Revolution), Roger Rojas (Olimpia), Carlo Costly (Veria/Greece), Georgie Welcome (Motagua)