Gatorade Player of the Year - 2011 logo

Area soccer standouts earn Gatorade Player of the Year honors

Two Washington, D.C.-area players have won Gatorade Boys Soccer Player of the Year nominations, one of the highest honors on the nation's high school sports scene.

Gonzaga College Prep standout Joey Wilkins (D.C.) and Cody Albrecht of DeMatha Catholic High School (Md.) made this year's list and will hope to follow in the footsteps of Severn, Md. product Chris Agorsor, who won the nationwide player of the year award in 2006.

Wilkins and Albrecht both played with the D.C. United youth academy. Wilkins has committed to play college soccer at Loyola University (Md.) and Albrecht will attend St. John's University in New York.

A long list of past Gatorade POTY winners went on to successful professional careers, including the likes of Chris Henderson, Claudio Reyna, Alecko Eskandarian and Kyle Martino. On the womens' side, the list includes Aly Wagner, Heather O'Reilly, Amy Rodriguez and Virginia native Ali Krieger.