Andy Najar - 2010 MLS Rookie of the Year

MLS Announces 2010 Rookie of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Xbox 360 Individual and Team Fair Play Awards

Major League Soccer today announced the 2010 Goalkeeper of the Year, Rookie of the Year, as well as the Xbox 360 Individual and Team Fair Play Awards.

2010 Rookie of the Year: Andy Najar, D.C. United

Andy Najar, signed as a Home Grown player at the age of 17, wasted no time making an impact for the D.C. United first team this season. He becomes the youngest player in League history to capture the honor. Appearing in 26 games during his rookie year, Najar recorded five goals and an assist in league play, earning the team’s Golden Boot award. Najar was also honored as the D.C. United MVP for the 2010 season.

2010 Goalkeeper of the Year: Donovan Ricketts, LA Galaxy

LA Galaxy goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts earned the 2010 Goalkeeper of the Year award after posting a career high 11 shutouts and allowing just 26 goals through 29 games this season. Ricketts finished the regular season with a goals-against average of 0.90 and currently holds the top spot in the all-time MLS standings with an all-time goals-against average of 0.96. The Jamaican International also helped lead the Galaxy to a record of 18-7-5 and 59 points to capture the coveted Supporters’ Shield.

2010 Xbox 360 Individual Fair Play Award: Sebastien Le Toux, Philadelphia Union

Sebastien Le Toux started 28 games for Philadelphia Union this year and recorded 14 goals and 11 assists. Through his 2,520 minutes this season, Le Toux committed only 10 fouls and received no cards, cautions, or action from the MLS Disciplinary Committee.

2010 Xbox 360 Team Fair Play Award: San Jose Earthquakes

The San Jose Earthquakes claimed the Team Fair Play award for accumulating the fewest disciplinary points of any team during the 2010 regular season. Disciplinary points are assigned as follow: 4 points for each caution received, 10 points for each red card, 0.50 points for each foul committed and a reduction of 15 points for each game that a team completes without receiving any cards or action from the MLS Disciplinary Committee.

Rookie of the Year Winners
2010: Andy Najar – D.C. United
2009: Omar Gonzalez – LA Galaxy
2008: Sean Franklin – LA Galaxy
2007: Maurice Edu – Toronto FC
2006: Jonathan Bornstein – Chivas USA
2005: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2004: Clint Dempsey – New England Revolution
2003: Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire
2002: Kyle Martino – Columbus Crew
2001: Rodrigo Faria - MetroStars
2000: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
1999: Jay Heaps – Miami Fusion
1998: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
1997: Mike Duhaney – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1996: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny

Goalkeeper of the Year Winners:
2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire
2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA
2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United
2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids
2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes
2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Kevin Hartman – LA Galaxy
1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire
1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew
1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn

MLS Fair Play Award - Individual Winners:
2010: Sebastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2009: Steve Ralston – New England Revolution
2008: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006: Chris Klein – Real Salt Lake
2005: Ronald Cerritos – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Eddie Pope - MetroStars
2003: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew
2002: Mark Chung – Colorado Rapids
2001: Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion
2000: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1998: Thomas Dooley – Columbus Crew
1997: Mark Chung – Kansas City Wizards

MLS Fair Play Award -Team Winners:
2010: San Jose
2009: Chicago Fire
2008: New England Revolution
2007: Columbus Crew
2006: Kansas City Wizards
2005: Kansas City Wizards
2004: Columbus Crew
2003: New England Revolution
2002: Kansas City Wizards
2001: San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Tampa Bay Mutiny
1999: Columbus Crew
1998: Kansas City Wizards
1997: Columbus Crew