Voces: Andy Najar

El joven de 17 años habla sobre ganar el premio de Novato del Año de la MLS 2010
Voces: Andy Najar

El joven hondureño fue elegido como el Novato del Año de la MLS 2010. El ganador más joven de este premio, Najar habla sobre su exitosa campaña y sus metas para el próximo año.

Najar grows up fast, humbled by Rookie award

DC youngster honored, has victory on his mind for next season
Najar humbled by RotY win

WASHINGTON – Andy Najar has been laying low since the conclusion of D.C. United’s season – eating, sleeping in, spending time with his family and girlfriend, and generally doing his best to recover from a draining debut campaign.

Chang aims to replicate Giants success at DC

D.C. United owner looks ahead to a victory parade in Washington
DC owner wants SF success

NEW YORK – On Wednesday, the city of San Francisco will hold its
victory parade for the baseball Giants to celebrate their first-ever World
Series title since moving to the West Coast.

It’s an event that D.C. United owner, Will Chang, who is also
a part owner of the Giants, wants to replicate for his MLS club.

Quote Sheet: Andy Najar 2010 MLS Rookie of the Year

Kevin Payne, Dave Kasper, and Najar comment on claiming the prestigious award
Quote Sheet



D.C. United President & CEO:

We're all very proud of Andy winning the MLS Rookie of the Year Award, which he richly deserved. The last D.C. United player to win the award was Ben Olsen in 1998 -- the fact that each wore number 14, and each played with a fierce commitment and great skill and intelligence has not been lost on us. We look forward to Andy continuing to improve and expect him to have an even better second season.

El joven hondureño Andy Najar se llevó el premio al Novato del Año

Ricketts y Le Toux también ganan honores de la liga
Najar, el Novato del Año

NUEVA YORK- El joven hondureño Andy Najar cerró su año debutante en la MLS con  broche de oro al ganar el premio al Novato del Año 2010. A pesar de que su equipo D.C. United, no tuviera su mejor temporada este año, el estelar atacante -de 17 años de edad- brilló en las canchas emeleseras y se convirtió en el jugador más joven en recibir el premio.

La última vez que un delantero logró el honor fue cuando el goleador Clint Dempsey se lo llevó en el 2004.

Morsink faces uncertain future with United

Costa Rican wants to stay with DC, but may not get the chance
Morsink's unclear future

WASHINGTON – Many D.C. United players face an uncertain fate this offseason as the club prepares for another round of rebuilding under a new head coach, but few more so than midfielder Kurt Morsink.

The Costa Rican says he’d like to stay in DC and contribute to next year’s side. But his MLS contract is up and after United’s historically poor 2010 campaign, he and most of his teammates have few guarantees that the yet-to-be-named incoming boss will have a place for them in the squad.

Teen phenom Najar takes MLS Rookie of the Year

D.C. United playmaker tops Ream, Mwanga to become youngest winner
Najar named top rookie

NEW YORK --- Most pundits made the Rookie of the Year award a two-horse race between New York defender Tim Ream and Philadelphia forward Danny Mwanga.  However, Andy Najar, D.C. United's 17-year-old phenom earned the award on Wednesday, becoming the first attacking player to win the honor since Clint Dempsey in 2004.

[inline_lightbox:14074]Najar is also the youngest player to ever win the award and just the second player to win the award for a last-place team, after Maurice Edu won for Toronto FC in 2007.

MLS Announces 2010 Rookie of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Xbox 360 Individual and Team Fair Play Awards

MLS Announces 2010 ROTY

Major League Soccer today announced the 2010 Goalkeeper of the Year, Rookie of the Year, as well as the Xbox 360 Individual and Team Fair Play Awards.

2010 Rookie of the Year: Andy Najar, D.C. United

D.C. United anuncia premios del club 2010

Najar gana cuatro premios, Zayner, King y McTavish también homenajeados
anuncia premios del club

Washington, D.C. (1 de noviembre de 2010) - D.C. United anunció hoy los ganadores de los premios de fin de temporada del club. El novato catracho Andy Najar se llevó la mayor cantidad al ganar Jugador Más Valioso Volkswager, Botín de Oro, Premio Volkswagen de los Aficionados y Gol del Año. Jed Zayner ganó el Premio Visa al Defensor del Año, Stephen King fue reconocido con el Premio de los Técnicos, mientras que Devon McTavish recibió el Premio MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitario del Año por tercer año consecutivo.

D.C. United announces 2010 club awards

Najar takes home four accolades
2010 club award-winners

D.C. (November 1, 2010) – D.C. United announced today the club’s end-of-season
award winners, with several honors going to 17-year-old rookie standout Andy
Najar. Topping the list is Najar’s 2010 Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Award,
along with the Volkswagen Fans Choice Award for his outstanding play during his
first season with the club. Jed Zayner takes home the Visa Defender of the Year
Award for his contributions to the Black-and-Red after joining United from
Columbus in midseason.

Syndicate content