Have a Beer on Us! On April 26, #DCU returns to #RFK and we're offering 1 ticket + 1 beer for $27: http://t.co/QZyZFg3Umo

D.C. United hosts fifth edition of “La Super Copa”

Washington, D.C. (February 17, 2010) - D.C. United announced today it will host the fifth edition of D.C. United's La Super Copa, a single elimination full side 11-v-11 invitational soccer tournament. Teams registering for the tournament are required to have won the championship in their local amateur league. The tournament is sponsored by Volkswagen, Verizon Wireless, adidas and D.C. Lottery.

The tournament will kick off with first round games on Saturday, April 3 and Saturday, April 10 at the RFK Stadium Auxiliary Field, and will feature 16 elite adult teams from local leagues. Admission for all games is free of charge. Depending on the number of registered teams, preliminary round matches will take place on March 20 and 21 to finalize the list of the 16 participating teams. The Cup’s championship game is scheduled to be played on May 1.

Registration is free and all of the final 16 participating teams will receive a full set of 20 new adidas team uniforms. There will be a cash prize of $5,000 for the Cup winner and $2,000 for the runner-up as well as team trophies and individual medals.

For more information, contact Kyle Retzlaff at kretzlaff@dcunited.com , or 202-587-5491. For registration, please contact Armando Portillo at aportillo@dcunited.com or 202-587-5454.

Broadcasting and P.A. Request: When speaking of the organization, please refer to the team as either “D.C. United” or “United,” but not “the D.C. United” or “the United.” We appreciate your cooperation.

Doug Hicks, dhicks@dcunited.com, (202) 587-5448,

Boris Flores, bflores@dcunited.com, (202) 587-5452,

Kyle Sheldon, ksheldon@dcunited.com, (202) 587-5450 or

Cristina Cruz, ccruz@dcunited.com, (202) 587-5440