D.C. United announces 2009 Major League Soccer schedule

Washington, D.C. (January 28, 2009) – D.C. United announced today its 2009 Major League Soccer regular season schedule. Winners of 12 major domestic and international titles, D.C. United kicks off the campaign during First Kick weekend – presented by Dick’s Sporting Goods – on Sunday, March 22 in Los Angeles with the home opener set for Saturday, March 28 against the Chicago Fire. The Black-and-Red will also play a host of nationally televised games, including a June 17 clash against League newcomer Seattle Sounders FC and a renewal of the Atlantic Cup rivalry with the New York Red Bulls on June 4, both on ESPN2.

Various League broadcast partners, including ESPN2, Fox Soccer Channel/Fox Sports en Español, and TeleFutura, will nationally televise almost half of United’s 30 regular season MLS games. The team’s regional TV schedule on broadcast partner Comcast SportsNet, as well as the club’s radio broadcasting plans for 2009, will be released in the coming weeks.

Full season, half season and flex plans are now on sale through the D.C. United office at 202-587-5000 or online at dcunited.com. Upscale seating for full season plans – either club section, private or semi-private boxes, or field level seating – is also available and includes premium services such as meal service, complimentary parking and VIP access. Youth discounted pricing remains an option for United full season, half season and flex ticket packages. Individual game tickets will go on sale at a later date on ticketmaster.com and all Ticketmaster outlets. A Winter 4-pack, featuring four tickets to the home opener, as well as limited edition D.C. United knit hat, scarf and gloves, is still available at dcunited.com.

United’s playing calendar will also include competition in several other domestic and international events, which will be announced at a later date.

D.C. United 2009 Schedule
(Revised 01/28/2009 – all times ET)

Day Date Opponent Time Television
Sun. March 22 at Los Angeles 3:00 p.m. Telefutura
Sat. March 28 Chicago 7:30 p.m. -
Sat. April 4 Houston 7:30 p.m. -
Sat. April 11 at Real Salt Lake 6:00 p.m. -
Fri. April 17 New England 7:00 p.m. ESPN2, Deportes
Sun. April 26 at New York 3:00 p.m. Telefutura
Sat. May 2 Dallas 7:30 p.m. FSC, FSE
Wed. May 6 at Kansas City 8:30 p.m. -
Sat. May 9 Toronto FC 7:30 p.m. -
Sat. May 16 at Chivas USA 11:00 p.m. FSC, FSE
Sat. May 23 Real Salt Lake 7:30 p.m. -
Sat. May 30 at New England 7:30 p.m. -
Th. June 4 New York 7:30 p.m. ESPN2, Deportes
Sat. June 13 Chicago 7:30 p.m. -
Wed. June 17 at Seattle 11:00 p.m. ESPN2, Deportes
Sat. June 20 at Colorado 9:30 p.m. -
Sat. July 4 at Columbus 7:00 p.m. ESPN2, Deportes
Sat. July 18 Colorado 8:00 p.m. -
Sat. July 25 at San Jose 10:00 p.m. FSC, FSE
Sat. August 1 at Houston 8:30 p.m. FSC, FSE
Sat. August 8 Kansas City 8:00 p.m. -
Sat. August 15 at Toronto 4:00 p.m. -
Sat. August 22 Los Angeles 7:30 p.m. FSC, FSE
Sat. August 29 at Chicago 8:30 p.m. FSC, FSE
Sat. Sept. 5 at FC Dallas 8:00 p.m. -
Sat. Sept. 12 Seattle 7:30 p.m. -
Sun. Sept. 27 San Jose 3:00 p.m. TeleFutura
Sat. October 3 Chivas USA 7:30 p.m. -
Sat. October 17 Columbus 8:00 p.m. -
Sat. October 24 at Kansas City 8:30 p.m. -

Broadcasting and P.A. Request: When speaking of the organization, please refer to the team as either “D.C. United” or “United,” but not “the D.C. United” or “the United.” We appreciate your cooperation.

Doug Hicks, dhicks@dcunited.com, (202) 587-5448,
Boris Flores, bflores@dcunited.com, (202) 587-5452,
Kyle Sheldon, ksheldon@dcunited.com, (202) 587-5450 or
Cristina Cruz, ccruz@dcunited.com, (202) 587-5440